NMSU Women's Basketball Earns 14-Seed, Will Face 3-Seed Iowa State

The 2019 Western Athletic Conference regular season and tournament champion New Mexico State women's basketball team learned their seed, opponent and destination on Monday afternoon as the 2019 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Tournament bracket was revealed. The Aggies (26-6) earned a 12 seed and will face regional host and 3-seed Iowa State in Ames, Iowa on Saturday, March 23rd with tip-off time scheduled for 3:30 p.m. MDT with the game being televised on ESPN2.

The Cyclones (28-8, 13-5 Big 12) fell to No. 1 Baylor in the Big 12 Tournament championship game.

NCAA Ticket Ordering Information:
Tickets for the 2019 Women's NCAA 1st and 2nd rounds hosted by the Cyclones in Hilton Coliseum are available through the Iowa State Athletics Ticket Office.

All-Session Prices:
• Adults- $30
• Youth- $15 (high school and under)

Single-Session Prices:
• Adults- $20
• Youth- $10

NMSU Men's Basketball Earns 12 Seed, Will Face 5-Seed Auburn In Salt Lake City On Thursday

The 2019 Western Athletic Conference regular season and tournament champion New Mexico State Aggies men's basketball team earned a 12 seed in the NCAA Tournament and will face 5th seeded Auburn in the first round in Salt Lake City, Utah on Thursday, March 21st with the tip-off scheduled for 11:30 a.m MDT. The game will be nationally televised on TNT.

The Auburn Tigers finished 26-9 overall and 11-7 in SEC play and are fresh off winning the SEC Tournament title 84-64 over Tennessee on Sunday. The Tigers won four games in four days to notch their first conference tournament title since 1985.

The Tigers were also in the NCAA tournament last season and were in the San Diego regional with New Mexico State. The two teams would have met in the second round had the Aggies beaten first round opponent Clemson, however, the Aggies fell to the Tigers in the first round. Clemson then routed Auburn in the second round.  Continue Reading This Post >>

NMSU Men's Basketball Reaches Eighth Straight WAC Tournament Final With 79-72 Win Over UTRGV

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS VEGAS, NV - New Mexico State men's basketball earned a chance to play for its ninth Western Athletic Conference Tournament Championship on Saturday, March 16, after grinding out a thrilling 79-72 semifinal win over UT Rio Grande Valley Friday night at Orleans Arena.  Continue Reading This Post >>

NMSU Women's Basketball Survives No. 4 Seed UMKC In Overtime

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.  Continue Reading This Post >>

Chanachai Named WAC Women's Golfer Of The Week

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

DENVER, CO - The Western Athletic Conference announced its golfers of the week on Wednesday. After stellar play at the Wildcat Invitational, New Mexico State’s Pun Chanachai was named the WAC Women’s Golfer of the Week.

Chanachai shot a 77-76-74—227 (+11) to finish in a tie for 22nd at the tournament. The junior’s strong day saw her finish ahead of two top-50 and another top-100 golfer. This finish also saw the golfer finish with a 4-0-1 record against competing WAC players.

This is Chanachai’s second golfer of the week honor this season. The New Mexico State women’s golf team is set to get back in action at the Red Rock Invitational in Sedona, Ariz. from March 23-24.

Chris Jans Named WAC Coach Of The Year

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

DENVER, CO - New Mexico State head men’s basketball coach Chris Jans headlines the Western Athletic Conference end of the year awards with his second-consecutive Don Haskins Coach of the Year honor.

The second-year head coach led the Aggies to its second-straight WAC Regular-Season title and fourth in five years with a 27-4 overall mark and 15-1 record in league play. New Mexico State enters the WAC Tournament with a 16-game winning-streak to its name as well.

Jans joins a shortlist of WAC head coaches that have won the Don Haskins Coach of the Year honor in back-to-back seasons that include Jim Brandenburg (Wyoming, 1980-82), Mark Fox (Nevada, 2004-07), Stew Morrill (Utah State (2008-11) and Rod Barnes (CSUB, 2015-17). Of that list, Jans and Fox are the only two coaches to win back-to-back coach of the year honors in their first two seasons at the helm.  Continue Reading This Post >>