Holbrook Named To Davey O'Brien Award Watch List

Visit the Davey O'Brien Award Website

Written by: NMSU Athletic Dept.

FORT WORTH, TX - New Mexico State senior quarterback Chase Holbrook has be named to the Davey O’Brien Award Watch List as announced by the Davey O'Brien Foundation and its National Selection Committee, Thursday afternoon. This is the second straight year Holbrook has been on the watch list.

"Being named to the 2008 Davey O’Brien Award Watch List is a great honor," Holbrook said. "To be grouped in with other great quarterbacks around the nation is a good feeling. I’m looking forward to the start of the season and our team having a very successful year."

"This is a well deserved honor for Chase," head coach Hal Mumme. "He is a great player and I’m looking forward to him having a great season."

In 2007, Holbrook passed for 3,866 yards, 26 touchdowns and averaged 322.2 yards a game through the air. He also finished the season completing 70.2 percent of his passes. Holbrook finished fifth in the nation in passing yards per game (322), eighth in total passing yards (3,866), second in pass completions per game (31.75) and fourth in pass completion percentage (70.2). Holbrook started the season with a four touchdown performance against Southeastern Louisiana (8/30). He then followed that performance with two 400-yard plus games against New Mexico (9/8) and UTEP (9/15). Holbrook finished second in the WAC in passing yards per game and total offense.

The Watch List spotlights 31 Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A) quarterbacks who will vie for the award honoring the nation's best quarterback for the 2008 football season. In addition to the Watch List, all Football Bowl Subdivision quarterbacks are equal candidates for The O'Brien until semifinalists are selected on October 27 and finalists on November 24.

The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O'Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas.

The 2008 winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN December 11. The recipient will be honored February 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.