30 Aggies Honored For Work In Classroom

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

DENVER, CO - The 2008-09 academic all-WAC teams from the winter sports were announced Thursday by the league and 30 Aggies were honored for their work in the classroom.
The Aggie swimming and diving team, under 2009 WAC Coach of the Year Rick Pratt, had 15 student-athletes honored. That number tied with Northern Arizona for the most student-athletes honored from a single team in the conference.
14 student-athletes from the women's indoor track and field team were honored, which tied for the second most in the conference and Aggie sophomore guard Madison Spence from the women's basketball team was also recognized for her achievements in the classroom.
All three seniors on the swimming and diving team made the academic all-conference list. For Brittany Barr and Maddison Bowles, this was their fourth such honor and Stephanie Peacock rounds out her career with two consecutive nods on the academic all-WAC list.
Junior Jennifer McConnell was one of the 14 track and field athletes honored by the league and this comes after she received the National Association for Sports and Physical Recreation (NASPE) Physical Education Major of the Year award earlier this spring.
This is the second such honor for Spence, as she was named to the 2008 Academic All-WAC Freshman and Transfer team list. She also earned 2009 all-WAC second team accolades after averaging 14.3 points and 2.84 assists in her sophomore season.
To be eligible, a student-athlete must have completed at least one academic year, have at least a 3.00 cumulative grade point average and have participated in at least 50 percent of the teams contests.
Below is a list of the NM State student-athletes that were honored

Women's Basketball
So. - Madison Spence
Women's Indoor Track and Field
Sr. – Candyce Allen
Jr. – Michelle Barnard
So. – Tara Blanco
So. – Alyssa Flores
Jr. – Ingrid Flores
So. – Brandi Guiterrez
Jr. – Brittany Hurtado
Jr. – Corissa Hutchinson
So. – Lauren Jaramillo
Jr. – Jennifer McConnell
So. – Merissa Montoya
Jr. – Tiffany Rodriguez
Sr. – Kara Sparks
So. – Desiree Varela
Women's Swimming and Diving
Jr. – Tessa Bain
Sr. – Brittany Barr
Sr. – Maddison Bowles
So. – Kelly Conrad
Jr. – Victoria Eickerman
So. – Alissa Idler
So. – Theresa Illgen
Jr. – Rachel Judge
So. – Alannah Lawrence
Sr. – Stephanie Peacock
Jr. – Meghann Percy
So. – Kelly Runestrand
So. – Amanda Schulte
Jr. – Bonnie Taylor
Jr. – Elisabeth Thomson