Katie Graul And Jazmin Cardoso Named To All-WAC Soccer Teams

The WAC postseason soccer awards were handed out on Wednesday evening and the Aggie soccer team landed two players on the All-WAC teams. Senior goal keeper Katie Graul earned First Team All-WAC honors while freshman midfielder Jazmin Cardoso earned Second Team All-WAC honors.

Graul transferred into the first year program from Loyola Marymount and made her presence felt from the very first regular season match. Graul held I-10 rival UTEP to zero goals in regulation in the Aggies inaugural match. The senior goal keeper played in all 18 matches for the Aggies and started all 18. Her 111 saves in 18 matches was 29 more saves than San Jose State's Nina Butera who was second in the category. Graul averaged 6.17 saves per match also tops in the league. She recorded a league high 14 saves in a match against Idaho State.

Her save percentage of .828 ranked third in the league and her three shutouts were tied for fourth in the WAC. All three of Graul's shutouts were recorded in WAC play, leading the league, as the Aggies defeated Boise State 1-0, Fresno State 2-0 and tied San Jose State 0-0. In conference play Graul led the league in saves with 47 and her 5.88 saves per match was also a league best.

Freshman midfielder Jazmin Cardoso led the Aggies in points with 12 scoring six goals during the regular season. Cardoso was a perfect three for three in penalty kicks and scored the game winning golden goal in overtime against Hawai'i on a penalty kick. Cardoso was tied for 10th in the league with six goals and held a .474 shot on goal percentage. Cardoso has attempted 38 shots on the season, also a team high. Cardoso's 21 shots in WAC play tied her for eighth in the league while her 2.62 shots per match average was tied for 10th in the league. Her six points in conference play also tied her for 10th.

First Team All-WAC
Emmy Belding, F, Sr., San Jose State
Shantel Flanary, F, So., Utah State
Roxy Kamal, F, Sr., San Jose State
Chelsea Small, F, Fr., Idaho
Hallsie Pacheco, MF, Sr., San Jose State
Mari Punzal, MF, Jr., Hawai'i
Chandra Salmon, MF, So., Utah State
Jessica Ingram, D, So., San Jose State
Lindsay Roberts, D, So., Boise State
Lindsey Smart, D, Sr., Utah State
Katie Graul, GK, Sr., New Mexico State

Second Team All-WAC
Natalie Ratnavira, F, So., Nevada
Shannon Saxton, F, Jr., Boise State
Ambree Ako, F, Sr., Hawai'i
Britta Bourne, F, Sr., Hawai'i
Brandy Hickcox, MF, So., Boise State
Molly Nizzoli, MF, So., Fresno State
Jazmin Cardoso, MF, Fr., New Mexico State
Kendall VanDine, D, So., Fresno State
Vanessa Gonzales, D, Fr., Fresno State
Annabelle Allen, D, So., Nevada
Nina Butera, GK, Jr., San Jose State

Offensive Player of the Year: Shantel Flanary, So., F, Utah State
Defensive Player of the Year: Jessica Ingram, So., D, San Jose State
Freshman of the Year: Chelsea Small, Fr., F, Idaho
Coach of the Year: Jeff Leightman, San Jose State