Three Aggies Named Preseason All-WAC; Aggies Picked To Finish 4th By Coaches

Angie OrtegaDENVER, CO - The 2010 Preseason Coaches Poll was released on Thursday afternoon and the Aggie softball team was picked by the league's coaches to finish 4th behind Fresno State, Nevada and Hawai'i and just ahead of Louisiana Tech. The Aggies finished the 2009 season in 5th place with a record of 11-9.
The coaches also voted on 2010 preseason award winners. Fresno State junior hurler Morgan Melloh earned preseason Pitcher of the Year honors, while Louisiana Tech senior shortstop Amberly Waits earned preseason Player of the Year honors.

The Aggies tied Nevada for the most players on the preaseason All-WAC team with three players. Sophomore Tiare Jennings, junior Hoku Nohara and senior Angie Ortega were all named to the preseason All-WAC squad.

Nohara led the team with a .429 batting average and hit 14 home runs and had 45 RBIs. She also drew 23 walks and struck out just 29 times in 154 at-bats. Her .747 slugging percentage was second on the team. She also led the team with a .527 on base percentage.

Jennings had a stellar freshman season hitting .407 and leading the team with 17 home runs and a team high 61 RBIs. Her .779 slugging percentage also led the Aggies. She drew 14 walks and struck out just 20 times in 172 at-bats. She also hit a team high 13 doubles.

Ortega finished the 2009 season with a .374 batting average and had a .741 slugging percentage. She recorded 14 home runs. She also recorded 43 RBIs.

2010 WAC Preseason Poll

  Rank   Team (first-place votes)   Points   
  1   Fresno State (6)   48   
  2   Nevada (1)   41   
  3   Hawai‘i   34   
  4   New Mexico State (1)   29   
  5   Louisiana Tech   28   
  6   San Jose State   19   
  7   Boise State   18   
  8   Utah State   7  

2010 Preseason All-WAC Team

  Player   School   Pos.   Yr.   
  Kylie Bassett   Louisiana Tech   1B   Sr.   
  Sam Bias   Nevada   3B   Sr.   
  Kathy Cox   Boise State   3B   Sr.   
  Haley Gilleland   Fresno State   SS   Jr.   
  Katie Holverson   Nevada   P   Sr.   
  Tiare Jennings   New Mexico State   OF   So.   
  Morgan Melloh   Fresno State   P   Jr.   
  Noelle Micka   Nevada   C   Jr.   
  Hoku Nohara   New Mexico State   1B   Jr.   
  Angie Ortega   New Mexico State   OF   Sr.
  Stephanie Ricketts   Hawai’i   P   So.   
  Amanda Tauali’i   Hawai’i   1B   Sr.   
  Amberly Waits   Louisiana Tech   SS   Sr.  

Player of the Year
Amberly Waits, Sr., Louisiana Tech
Pitcher of the Year
Morgan Melloh, Jr., Fresno State