Spring 2007 Academic All-WAC Aggie Athletes

Written by NMSU Athletic Dept.

DENVER, CO – The Western Athletic Conference recently named 56 student-athletes from New Mexico State University to its Spring Academic All-WAC team.

The Aggies had 27 student-athletes honored from its spring sports and had 29 freshman or transfers named to the 2006-07 Academic All-WAC Freshman and Transfer list.

New Mexico State had 16 freshmen honored for their academic achievements. Only Idaho had more freshman named to the list in the conference from all spring sports that NMSU participates in.

“It is a privilege to be part of the process with our student-athletes and to see how they continue to commit themselves to educational development,” Assistant Athletic Director/Student Development and Academic Services Coordinator James Hall said. “We are certainly in line with what Dr. Martin and Dr. Boston had in vision with their strategic plan.”

Women’s Track and Field led the way for the Aggies, as they had 14 total student-athletes honored. The NMSU baseball team had 11 players honored, swimming and diving added eight players and seven softball players were selected.

Five football players earned the scholastic award, while women’s golf, men’s tennis and women’s tennis all had three players honored. Two Aggie men golfers were also selected to the spring team.

To be eligible, a student-athlete must have completed at least one academic year, have at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average and have participated in at least 50 percent of the teams contests.

2006-07 Spring Academic All-WAC Team


Frank Duran
Tyler Hardt
Dillon Smith

Men’s Golf

Thomas Esparaza
Joshua Stewart

Women’s Golf

Kelli Dalpes
Maggie Murphy
Inah Park


Sammie Dillard
Stacey Lien
Kayla Luttmers
Jamie Nussbaum
Kristi Randall
Kim Watson

Men’s Tennis

Stjepan Beg
Jeff Pfeifer
Roman Stoisavljevic

Women’s Tennis

Anne Fagegaltier
Nicole Fintell
Paulina Zuniga

Women’s Track and Field

Candyce Allen
Monica Gomez
Christina Herrera
Andrea Leitner
Anna Sandoval
Beth Sandoval
Kara Sparks

2006-07 Academic All-WAC Freshman and Transfers


Casey Amundson
Anthony Arrieta
David Bustillas
Wade Gubbels
Ari Loiben
Joseph Scaperotta
Richard Stout
Matt Van Deelen


Sioeli Fakalata
Michael Gibson
Tony Glynn
J. Kyle Smith
Kramer Winingham


Jenavieve Purcell

Swimming and Diving

Tessa Bain
Alyson Clements
Miranda Cox
Victoria Eickerman
Rachel Judge
Meghann Percy
Bonnie Taylor
Elisabeth Thomson

Women’s Track and Field

Michelle Barnard
Val Detrick
Ingrid Flores
Ann Gagliardi
Brittany Hurtado
Jennifer McConnell
Precious Nelsion