Davon House Named To Jim Thorpe Watch List

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK - The 2010 Jim Thorpe Award preseason “watch list” announced today includes 35 of the nation’s best defensive backs as the leading candidates for this year’s trophy, including New Mexico State’s senior defensive back Davon House. House becomes the first defensive back at NM State to be named to the Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list.

In 2009, House, a native of Palmdale, Calif., was named a first team All-WAC selection, after leading the league and the Aggies in passes defended and interceptions. House also broke the school record for most interception return yards for a career. He tallied 68 tackles on the season and three interceptions. House recorded two touchdowns on the year, one interception return for a touchdown against Hawai’i (11/14) and the other a fumble recovery and return for a touchdown at Louisiana Tech (10/17). With his fumble return and interception return for touchdowns, House became the first Aggie player to do both during a single season since Gary Jessie accomplished this feat back in the mid-1990s. House also proved to be in the right place at the right time for interceptions in his career. He has nine to his name, which ranks him ninth all-time at NM State. With the 58-yard interception return against Hawai’i, House broke the school record for interception return yardage held for 28 years by James Ferebee (1978-81). House now has 271 interception return yards. At San Diego State (10/3), House grabbed seven tackles and his first interception of the season. Two games later, at Louisiana Tech, House scooped up a fumble and returned it 38 yards for his first career fumble return for a touchdown. Against Hawai’i, House recorded his second interception of the season, returning it 58 yards for his second touchdown of the season. He also broke the school record for interception return yardage for a career with that interception return. At Boise State (12/5), House tallied a career-high nine tackles including a career-high four pass break-ups. House was also named a 2009 Phil Steele’s Postseason All-WAC selection.

The Thorpe Award is one of college football’s most sought after and prestigious awards. It is named after history’s greatest all-around athlete, a man who excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on offense, but also was an awesome defensive back. Recognized in the Pro Football Hall of Fame simply as “The Legend”, Thorpe also played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

The Jim Thorpe Award “watch list” is determined by analysis of the pre-season All-American teams listed in at least six pre-season college football annual magazines. Four points are awarded for first team, three points for second team, two points for third and one point for honorable mentions. This procedure determines approximately 30-40 players on the pre-season watch list. This list is not final and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses.

2010 Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watch List:
Davon House – CB – New Mexico State
Prince Amukamara – CB – Nebraska
Mark Barron – S – Alabama
Brandon Boykin – CB – Georgia
Curtis Brown – CB – Texas
Kendric Burney – CB – North Carolina
Brandon Burton – CB – Utah
Rashad Carmichael – CB – Virginia Tech
Quinton Carter – S – Oklahoma
Chimdi Chekwa – CB – Ohio State
Don Decicco – S – Pittsburgh
Ras-1 Dowling – CB – Virginia
Blake Gideon – S – Texas
Stephen Gilmore – CB – South Carolina
Brandon Harris – CB – Miami
Will Hill – S – Florida
Jermale Hines – S – Ohio State
Brandon Hogan – CB – West Virginia
Duke Ihenacho – S – San Jose State
Jaiquwn Jarrett – S – Temple
Janoris Jenkins – CB – Florida
Jeron Johnson – S – Boise State
Tejay Johnson – S – TCU
Shiloh Keo – S – Idaho
Brian Lainhart – S – Kent State
DeAndre McDaniel – S – Clemson
Rahim Moore – S – UCLA
Johnny Patrick – CB – Louisville
Patrick Peterson – CB – LSU
Tyler Sash – S – Iowa
Robert Sands – S – West Virginia
Jimmy Smith – CB – Colorado
Trevin Wade – CB – Arizona
Aaron Williams – CB – Texas
Deunta Williams – S – North Carolina