Five Aggies Earn All-WAC Honors; Coffman, Waite Named First Team

The New Mexico State baseball team (34-22, 9-14) had five players named to the postseason All-WAC teams on Tuesday. Aggie junior closer Scott Coffman and left fielder Tanner Waite each earned First Team All-WAC honors while sophomore second baseman Parker Hipp, junior shortstop Tyler Forney and sophomore designated hitter Zac Fisher were named to the Second Team.

Coffman is 1-0 in 10 appearances with four saves and a 1.31 ERA. in 20.2 innings of work He has struck out 16 batters while giving up just 15 hits.

Waite ranks on the Top 10 in batting average at .350 and in the top 10 in on base percentage at .465. He ranks 4th in the league in walks drawn with 19 and had 18 RBIs, five doubles and one home run in 80 at bats.

Zac Fisher leads the league in batting average at .452 and also leads the league in slugging percentage at .740 with 20 RBIs, five home runs and six doubles.

Parker Hipp is batting .333 despite missing eight of the Aggies' 24 conference games.

Tyler Forney ranks in the Top 10 in batting average with a .354 batting average and is in the Top 10 in sacrifice bunts with four while driving in 13 runs and coming around to score 17 times.

The Aggies take on Louisiana Tech at 8:00 p.m. (MT) in an opening round game of the 2011 WAC Tournament. The winner will face top seeded Hawai'i on Thursday at 8:00 p.m. (MT) while the loser will face the loser of Wednesday's other opening round game between 4-seed Nevada and 5-seed San Jose State at noon (MT) on Thursday.

OF - Aaron Judge, Fr., Fresno State
OF - Dusty Robinson, Jr., Fresno State
OF - Kyle Roliard, Jr., Louisiana Tech
OF - Tanner Waite, Jr., New Mexico State
1B - Danny Stienstra, Sr., San Jose State
1B - Jordan Ribera, Sr., Fresno State
1B - Brock Stassi, Sr., Nevada
2B - Kolten Wong, Jr., Hawai'i
3B - Danny Muno, Sr., Fresno State
SS - Garrett Weber, Sr., Fresno State
C - Austin Wynns, So., Fresno State
DH - Zack Swasey, Jr., Hawai'i
SP - Roberto Padilla, Jr., San Jose State
SP - Greg Gonzalez, Sr., Fresno State
SP - Mike Jefferson, Jr., Louisiana Tech
RP - Scott Coffman, Jr., New Mexico State

OF - Craig Hertler, Sr., San Jose State
OF - Brennan Gowens, Jr., Fresno State
OF - Brian Barnett, Sr., Nevada
OF - Nick Melino, Jr., Nevada
1B - Jeff Van Doornum, Sr., Hawai'i
2B - Parker Hipp, So., New Mexico State
3B - Mark Threlkeld, Jr., Louisiana Tech
SS - Ryan Gebhardt, Fr., Louisiana Tech
SS - Braden Shipley, Fr., Nevada
SS - Tyler Forney, Jr., New Mexico State
C - Derrick Chung, Jr., Sacramento State
DH - Zac Fisher, So., New Mexico State
SP - Esteban Guzman, Jr., San Jose State
SP - Josh Poytress, Jr., Fresno State
SP - Troy Marks, Jr., Nevada
RP - Lenny Linsky, Jr., Hawai'i

Player of the Year: Dusty Robinson, Jr., Fresno State
Pitcher of the Year: Greg Gonzalez, Sr., Fresno State
Freshman of the Year: Aaron Judge, Fresno State
Coach of the Year: Mike Trapasso, Hawai'i