Aggie Volleyball Picked To Finish Second; Brennan, DeVries, Scott Named To Preseason All-WAC Team

DENVER, CO - The New Mexico State Aggie volleyball team was picked to finish second by the league's coaches in the preseason coaches' poll. New Mexico State is coming off an 18-13 season which saw them finish 12-4 in conference play. The Aggies were eliminated in the conference tournament semifinals by eventual tournament champion Utah State.

The Aggies return a core group of players including senior All-American setter Jennah DeVries and senior middle hitter Kelsey Brennan. Both players were named to the preseason All-WAC team along with sophomore middle hitter Desiree Scott. The Aggies' three preseason All-WAC selections put them second behind preseason favorite Hawai'i who placed four on the preseason All-WAC team. Defending tournament champion Utah State also had three preseason All-WAC selections.

The 2011 season begins the weekend of Aug. 26 with all eight teams in action. The 2011 WAC Volleyball Tournament will be held Nov. 21-23 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas and will include the top six teams in the regular-season standings. The championship match will be televised live on ESPNU.

New Mexico State opens the season on Saturday, August 20th with the annual Alumni match and kicks off regular season play on Friday, August 26th and Saturday August 27th in Albuquerque at the MCM Elegante tournament where they will face Nebraska and South Florida. The Aggies open their home slate on Sunday, August 28th against Nicholls State.

2011 WAC Preseason Coaches’ Poll
Rank Team Points
1 Hawai'i (7) 49
2 New Mexico State 41
3 Utah State (1) 34
4 Idaho  33
5 Fresno State 25
6 Nevada 20
7 San Jose State 14
8 Louisiana Tech 8

2011 Preseason All-WAC Team
Player Yr. Pos. School

Kelsey Brennan Sr. MH New Mexico State
Brianna Clarke Sr. MB Fresno State
Kanani Danielson Sr. OH Hawai'i
Jennah DeVries Sr. S New Mexico State
Emily Hartong So. MB Hawai'i
Brittany Hewitt Jr. MB Hawai'i
Liz McArthur Sr. OH Utah State
Chanteal Satele Sr. OH Hawai'i
Desiree Scott So. MH New Mexico State
Shay Sorensen Jr. OPP Utah State
Allison Walker So. OH Idaho
Joselyn White Jr. OH Utah State

Preseason Player of the Year: Kanani Danielson, Sr., Hawai'i