Both Aggie Tennis Teams Claim Academic Honors

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) recently announced the All-Academic teams and individual scholar-athletes for the 2010-11 season. Four athletes from the women's team and three players from the men's team were honored as scholar-athletes for New Mexico State.

The women's team earned the ITA All-Academic team award for the eighth time in nine seasons. The men's squad attained the team honor for the fourth time since 2005.

On the women's side, departed senior and 2011 student volunteer coach Isabela Kulaif earned individual academic honors from the ITA. Joining Kulaif as ITA Scholar Athletes were juniors Ginet Pinero and Jodie Williams alongside sophomore Annemieke Witte. It marked the first honor from the ITA for each of the women.

"Academics are really important to our team," said women's head coach Ivan Fernandez. "I'm very proud of our team for achieving the honor again last season. I'm especially proud of our four ladies who achieved their first national academic award."

The three Aggies from the men's team who were named as scholar-athletes were former Aggies Jim Brouleau and Scott Keaton along with senior Matej Stakne. It marked the second straight season with an ITA honor for Brouleau and Stakne and the first national accolade for Keaton.

"It's always good to receive awards, especially in academics," said men's head coach Carlos Vargas. "It's even more special when you factor in all of the rigors that come with the program including practice, travel and competition. It's good to be rewarded in the classroom. It shows we focus on becoming the full package as an Aggie student-athlete."

The Aggie tennis programs begin fall action next month at the NM State Tennis Center. The men's team starts first by hosting the Aggie Invitational Sept. 9-11. The women's squad begins the following weekend in their Aggie Invitational Sept. 16-18.