Aggie Men's Golf Finishes Second At WAC Championships

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

HENDERSON, NV - The New Mexico State fired an 11-over par, 299 in the final round of the 2012 Men’s Golf WAC Championships at the par 72, 7,332 yard Rio Secco Golf Club, finishing second overall as a team, with a three-round total of 18-over par, 882.

“It is tough finishing second,” head coach Mike Dirks said. “You get in the position to win especially at the conference championship and come up just short is hard. We did a lot of stuff right today but just couldn’t finish it out. I’m proud of the way our team competed all tournament. I think going into net year we need to build this team around Justin (Shin) and find some players to replace the seniors we are losing.”

Junior Justin Shin finished second overall after a final round score of 1-over par, 73. At the end of the final 18-holes, Shin was tied for first with San Jose State’s Jay Myers at 5-under par, 211. The two golfers battled it out in a playoff, with Myers coming out on top with a birdie on the first playoff hole. Shin carded four birdies in the final round. Shin was also named a first team All-WAC selection.

Senior Gaston De La Torre shot a 2-over par, 74 in round three, bring him to 2-over par, 218 for the tournament. He recorded four birdies in the final round, finishing fourth overall. De La Torre garnered his third second team All-WAC award of his career.

Senior Zachery Fullerton went 5-over par, 77 in round three and finished 9-over par, 225 for the tournament. He carded two birdies in the final round both coming in the final three holes. Fullerton tied for 16th overall. Fullerton was named a second team All-WAC pick as well.

Freshman Cosme Beamonte shot a 2-over par, 74 in the final round with two birdies. He finished tied for 26th overall at 13-over par, 229.

Redshirt senior Miko Alejandro shot a final round score of 10-over par, 82 with one birdie on Wednesday. Alejandro finished 37th overall at 25-over par, 241.

San Jose State wins the WAC Championship at 12-over par, followed NM State, Fresno State (+22), Idaho (+28), Louisiana Tech (+38), Nevada (+45), Hawai’i (+47) and Utah State (+55).