NM State Equestrian Lands 11 Academic Awards

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The National Collegiate Equestrian Association announced Thursday the 2013 National Collegiate Equestrian Association’s Honor Roll, as 11 New Mexico State Equestrian riders earned the honor. The Aggies had six first-team selections, one second-team pick and two honorable mention honorees.

"We are proud to have so many of our student-athletes nationally recognized for their academic success,” head coach Robin Morris-Walters said. “Finding success in the classroom as well as in the competition arena takes a high level of dedication and commitment. These ladies exemplify what it means to be a student-athlete at NM State."

Six Hunter Seat riders and five Western riders from NM State were named to the honor roll.

Western riders Marissa Bartmann (Ag Economics and Ag Business), Lauren DeVoe (Elementary Education), Brynn Larson (General Business), and Stefanie Story (Elementary Education) earned first team honors, while Hunter Seat riders Emily McConnell (Sociology) and Amber Tassel (Management) were also named first team honorees.

Western rider Tara Wilson (Elementary Education) made the second team list, while Hunter Seat riders Hannah Swarthout (Animal Science) and Shannon Dooley (Animal Science) were named to the honorable mention team.

Hunter Seat riders Elizabeth Solomon (Business Administration) and Julie Frey (Ag Economics and Ag Business) each earned a spot on the honor roll as well.

The Aggies will compete at the National Collegiate Equestrian Championships, April 18-20 in Waco, Texas.