Fernandez, Ramirez, Westgate Earn All-WAC Honors

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

DENVER, CO - New Mexico State men’s tennis players Daniel Fernandez, Luis Fernandez and Marc Westgate each collected All-Western Athletic Conference accolades for the 2013 spring season, the conference office announced Thursday.

Fernandez, a freshman from Aguascalientes, Mexico, was named WAC Freshman of the Year and first team All-WAC for his work on the court. Senior Luis Fernandez was named All-WAC second team for singles, while he and junior Marc Westgate were named second team all-conference for doubles play.
Fernandez finished the regular season 15-4 in singles overall and 4-0 in WAC play, winning each of his conference matches in straight sets. He was named WAC Player of the Week twice during the spring and helped the Aggies to a 13-8 season record, 3-2 in league play.

Ramirez was named All-WAC second team after finishing 8-7 in singles play, mainly at the No. 1 spot, and 3-2 in conference play. He claimed a two-set win over No. 61 Texas A&M Corpus Christi and helped the Aggies to a No. 4 seed in the WAC Tournament by winning his final two matches this season.

Ramirez and Westgate paired up at the No. 1 position for an 11-9 doubles record, good enough to be named second team all-conference. The duo earned three wins over ranked teams, including a 9-8 (7-3) win over No. 66 and Rio Grande rival New Mexico. The pair finished the season with an 8-6 win over the duo from Utah State just over a week ago.

The Aggies enter the 2013 edition of the WAC Tournament with the No. 4 seed and riding a two-match win streak. NM State meets No. 5 Utah State, Friday, April 26 at 10 a.m. The winner of Friday’s match will face No. 1 seed Denver on Saturday morning.

2013 WAC Men’s Tennis Award Winners

First Team All-WAC Singles
Joel Rubio, UTSA
Jens Vorkefeld, Denver
Abid Akbar, Idaho
Dmitry Perevoshchikov, Idaho
Daniel Fernandez, New Mexico State
Enej Bonin, Denver

First Team All-WAC Doubles
Max Krammer/Fabio Biasion, Denver
Abid Akbar/Marius Cirstea, Idaho
Enej Bonin/Jens Vorkefeld, Denver

Second Team All-WAC Singles
Marius Cirstea, Idaho
Luis Ramirez, New Mexico State
Sven Poslusny, Utah State
Jose Bendeck, Idaho
Max Krammer, Denver
David Kelleher, UTSA

Second Team All-WAC Doubles
Luis Ramirez/Marc Westgate, New Mexico State
Jose Bendeck/Cristobal Ramos, Idaho
Carlos Arbiza/Yauheni Yakauleu, UT Arlington

WAC Player of the Year: Enej Bonin, Denver
WAC Freshman of the Year: Daniel Fernandez, New Mexico State
WAC Coach of the Year: Jeff Beaman, Idaho