Aggie Volleyball Tops Preseason Coaches Poll; Loerch And Scott Named Preseason All-WAC

Written By: WAC Media Relations

DENVER, CO - The Western Athletic Conference volleyball coaches have selected New Mexico State to win the WAC regular-season crown in 2013. The coaches also voted on the preseason award winners and Idaho junior middle blocker Alyssa Schultz was the pick for WAC Preseason Player of the Year.

New Mexico State received seven of the first-place votes with Idaho earning the other two. The Aggies earned 62 total points, followed by Idaho with 58. Utah Valley was picked to finish third with 44 points, followed by Seattle U in fourth with 39 points, just ahead of Bakersfield in fifth with 38 and Kansas City in sixth with 35 points. Texas-Pan American, Grand Canyon and Chicago State rounded out the poll with 21, 17 and 10 points, respectively.

Idaho placed the most players on the preseason All-WAC team with three, while Bakersfield, New Mexico State and Utah Valley had two apiece. Joining Schultz on the preseason team are teammates Katelyn Peterson and Taylor Wilkinson, Bakersfield’s Debora Araujo and Fernanda Gonçalves, New Mexico State’s Lauren Loerch and Desiree Scott, Utah Valley’s Brookelyn Hall and Lauren Stringham, Emma Hagedorn of Kansas City, Mackenzie Phelps of Grand Canyon, and Martina Samadan of Seattle U.

The 2013 season begins the weekend of Aug. 30 with all nine teams in action. The 2013 WAC Volleyball Tournament, hosted by Grand Canyon, will be held Nov. 25-27, at GCU Arena in Phoenix, Ariz., and will include the top six eligible teams in the regular-season standings.

2013 WAC Preseason Coaches’ Poll
Rank Team (first-place votes) Points
1. New Mexico State (7) 62
2. Idaho (2) 58
3. Utah Valley 44
4. Seattle U 39
5. Bakersfield 38
6. Kansas City 35
7. Texas-Pan American 21
8. Grand Canyon 17
9. Chicago State 10

2013 Preseason All-WAC Team
Player Yr. Pos. School
Debora Araujo Sr. OH Bakersfield
Fernanda Gonçalves Sr. S Bakersfield
Emma Hagedorn So. MH Kansas City
Brookelyn Hall Sr. S Utah Valley
Lauren Loerch Sr. OH New Mexico State
Katelyn Peterson So. OH Idaho
Mackenzie Phelps Jr. L Grand Canyon
Martina Samadan So. MB Seattle U
Alyssa Schultz Jr. MB Idaho
Desiree Scott Sr. MH New Mexico State
Lauren Stringham So. MB Utah Valley
Taylor Wilkinson Sr. MB Idaho

Preseason Player of the Year: Alyssa Schultz, Idaho