Aggie Men's Tennis Loses Heartbreaker To Idaho In WAC Championship Match

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The New Mexico State men’s tennis team came up just short in the 2014 WAC Championship finals, falling to No. 2 seed Idaho, 4-3. The Aggies end the season with a 12-11 overall record.

“Obviously it was tough to lose this match today but our team left everything they had on the court and I couldn’t be more proud of our effort,” head coach Carlos Vargas said. “We had a good year. Idaho is a good team and we knew today was going to be a fight.”

It all came down to the doubles point in the championship match, as the two teams were tied at 3-3 after six singles matches.

In singles action, Strahinja Trecakov defeated Jose Bendeck of Idaho, 7-5, 7-6, at the No. 1 singles spot, while No. 4 singles junior Germain Degardin beat Odon Barta, 6-2, 6-2.

Patrick Pfister earned the final singles point for the Aggies in the match at the No. 5 singles, winning in straight sets 6-2, 6-4 over Idaho’s Cesar Torres.

No. 2 singles player, redshirt sophomore Paul Denele fell to Artemiy Nikitin, 6-3, 7-5, while No. 3 singles player Liam Goldberg was downed by Idaho’s Cristobal Ramos, 6-4, 7-6. Sophomore Naveen Manivannan was defeated 6-2, 6-0 by the Vandals’ Andrew Zedde.

The Aggies started the doubles matches with a win at No. 1 as the team of Marc Westgate/Naveen Manivannan defeated Cristobal Ramos/Jose Bendeck of Idaho, 8-6. The Vandals then tied the doubles at 1-1 as Odon Barta/Andrew Zedde of Idaho beat the Aggies’ No. 2 doubles of Paul Denele/Patrick Pfister, 8-6.

In the deciding doubles match, the Vandals led 7-6, as the Aggies had seven break points to tie it at seven but in the end the team of Cesar Torres/Artemiy Nikitin defeated the Aggies’ team of Strahinja Trecakov/Liam Goldberg, 8-6.


No. 1 New Mexico State vs No. 2 Idaho


NM State/Idaho

#1 Strahinja Trecakov vs Jose Bendeck – 7-5, 7-6 (NM State)
#2 Paul Denele vs Artemiy Nikitin – 6-3, 7-5 (Idaho)
#3 Liam Goldberg vs Cristobal Ramos – 6-4, 7-6 (Idaho)
#4 Germain Degardin vs Odon Barta – 6-2, 6-2 (NM State)
#5 Patrick Pfister vs Cesar Torres – 6-2, 6-4 (NM State)
#6 Naveen Manivannan vs Andrew Zedde – 6-2, 6-0 (Idaho)


NM State/Idaho
#1 Marc Westgate/Naveen Manivannan vs Cristobal Ramos/Jose Bendeck – 8-6 (NM State)
#2 Paul Denele/Patrick Pfister vs Odon Barta/Andrew Zedde – 8-6 (Idaho)
#3 Strahinja Trecakov/Liam Goldberg vs Cesar Torres/Artemiy Nikitin – 8-6 (Idaho)