Menzies Signs Two-Year Contract Extension

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - New Mexico State Athletics Director Dr. McKinley Boston announced on Wednesday that head men’s basketball coach Marvin Menzies has signed a two-year contract extension with NM State. The contract extension goes thru 2019.

“I am pleased to offer Coach Menzies a two-year contract extension based upon the consistent competiveness of his team, consistent academic success of his players and his strong fundraising efforts to help support the teams financials needed to compete at a high Division I level,” said Dr. Boston.

Coach Menzies led NM State to its 21st NCAA tournament after going 26-10 overall and winning the Western Athletic Conference Tournament for the third year in a row. NM State went 12-4 in conference play this season and now holds a 5-1 record in WAC championship appearances dating back to 2007, with their only loss in the championship game coming in 2008 to Boise State in a 107-102 three overtime loss.

The Aggie head coach is now 152-89 (63.1%) all-time at the helm after helping NM State to its 24 20-plus win season in the program’s history. Menzies is only the second coach in program history to win over 120 games in his first six seasons and needs just five more wins to tie former Aggie coach Jerry Hines for third on the all-time wins list at NM State. Hines tallied 157 wins in 12 seasons, while Menzies has 152 wins in seven seasons.

"I'd like to thank Dr. Carruthers and Dr. Boston for their continued support,” said Menzies. “My vision is to continue to grow the program and the national brand of New Mexico State in a positive light. We have achieved a lot in my tenure, but there is still work to do. I am excited to continue this journey toward excellence, Aggie Up".

Menzies has coached 19 all-conference players at NM State including four in 2014 as well as the WAC Player of the Year, Daniel Mullings. Also on the 2014 all-WAC teams was Tshilidzi Nephawe (second team), Sim Bhullar (all-defensive team) and D.K. Eldridge (all-newcomer team). Menzies also guided four selections in 2013; Bandja Sy (first team), Daniel Mullings (second team), Sim Bhullar (third team and newcomer), who was also WAC Freshman of the Year. Bhullar earned WAC Tournament MVP honors, and he was the first freshman to garner the honor since Shawn Bradley in 1991. Mullings was also a member of the WAC All-Tournament Team.