Orin Richburg Inducted Into Pittsburgh City League All-Sports Hall Of Fame

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

PITTSBURGH, PA - Orin Richburg, the New Mexico State head cross country and track and field coach, was named as one of the 15 inductees for the first annual Pittsburgh City League All-Sports Hall of Fame on Saturday, Dec. 13, organized by Achieving Greatness, Inc.

The event recognized 50 nominees and honored the 15 inductees into the City League’s own Hall of Fame.

“The honor for me to be included in the first group of 15 former city of Pittsburgh athletes that have excelled in their hometown is unbelievable,” Richburg said. “I have always strived to do the best I can under the circumstances presented. I prepared myself academically as well as athletically for success at the highest level.”

In his seventh year with the program, Richburg continues to lead the team to great successes. During the 2014 cross country season, Richburg saw senior Hab Rubio become the first New Mexico State runner to win the Western Athletic Conference men’s individual cross country championship at the WAC Championships

Among his achievements with the team, Richburg has also been inducted into the Western Penna, Heinz Sports Museum, and the Kent State Hall of Fame. He has also served as assistant coach for the United States Track and Field Team at the World Championships in Istanbul, Turkey in March 2012.

Richburg inspires his student-athletes to achieve greatness by emphasizing hard work, dedication and interest in academics.

Coach Richburg has helped me so much ever since I was a freshman,” former athlete Jenna Banegas said. “He is hard working, passionate and a great provider to all of his athletes. I could not think of a better person to deserve this honor. He is the best coach I have had the opportunity to work with.”

Other nominees include: Sam Clancy, Kirk Bruce, Dwight Clay, Ricky Coleman, Larry Anderson, Bill Clarke, Mike Williams, D.J. Dinkins, Gil Cummings, Major Harris, Ramon Hart, Ron Carter, Darrell Porter, Robert Robinson, Rick Cannon, Coach George Webb, Bobby Byrd, Lloyd Weston, Coach Ron Wabby, Ron Hightower, David Kennedy, Gus Cantanese, Kevan Barlow, DeJaun Blair, Clarence Hopson, D.J. Kennedy, Cleveland Edwards, Wayne Copeland, Fred Marshall, Wayne Williams, Ahmad Sheriff, Mez Bennett, Marv Snowden, Reggie Dukes, Larry Anderson (Schenley), John Brewer, Ray Zellars, Leroy Freeman, Jennifer Bruce, Robin Smith, Cindy Dallas, Margo Hinton, Brandy Hogan, Coach Phyllis Jones, Mary Myers, Carlita Jones, Amber Plowden, Coach Janet Davis, Kathy Jacobson-Guzy.