Aggie Tennis Teams On All-Academic Team Lists

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The New Mexico State men’s and women’s tennis teams are both on the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic Team list as announced on Thursday by the ITA.

This is the third-straight year that both teams have made the list. For the women, it is now an astounding 10 years in a row receiving the recognition. Oh and by the way, both teams are also the defending Western Athletic Conference champions.

“I am extremely proud of these teams,” said women’s tennis head coach Ivan Fernandez. “The way that they manage their time to be WAC champions and at the same time Academic All-Americans is truly admirable.”

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year.

The letter winners on the men’s side finished with a cumulative GPA of 3.21, while the women letter winners finished with a cumulative GPA of 3.61.

The ITA also announced its individual Scholar Athlete awards on Thursday. The Aggies are represented by seven men’s players and six women’s players.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must be a varsity letter winner, have a GPA of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year and have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters.

ITA Scholar-Athletes on the men’s side include freshman Antonio Ramirez, juniors Jeremy Harlas, Thomas Douglas, Liam Goldberg and Strahinja Trecakov and seniors Germain Degardin and Patrick Pfister.

On the women’s side, ITA Scholar-Athletes include freshman Rimpledeep Kaur, juniors Ashvarya Shrivastava, Chloe Joliff and Mia Brandt and seniors Susana Alcaraz and Denise Van Der Ben.

NM State is the only university in the WAC to earn an ITA All-Academic Team award for both the men’s and women’s programs in 2015. In fact, the only other WAC team to earn the recognition on the men’s side is Chicago State and the only other WAC team to earn the recognition on the women’s side is the former Texas-Pan American.