Aggie Volleyball Picked To Finish Second; Three Aggies Named Preseason All-WAC

Written By: WAC Media Relations

DENVER, CO - The Western Athletic Conference volleyball coaches have selected Missouri-Kansas City to win the WAC regular-season crown in 2015. The coaches also voted on the preseason award winners and Utah Valley senior middle blocker Lauren Bakker was the pick for WAC Preseason Player of the Year.

UMKC received four of the first-place votes and 45 total points to earn the top spot in the poll. NM State earned two first-place votes and 40 total points, followed by Seattle U with one first-place vote and 37 points in third place. CSU Bakersfield was picked to finish fourth with 33 points and the other first-place vote, followed by Utah Valley in fifth with 28 points. Grand Canyon in sixth with 20 points, while The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley and Chicago State round out the poll with 13 and eight points, respectively.

UMKC, NM State and Seattle U placed the most players on the preseason All-WAC team with three apiece, while CSU Bakersfield and Utah Valley had two each. Joining Bakker on the preseason team is teammate Macky Fifita, UMKC’s Sydney Crimmins, Jessica Hendin and Taryn Miller, NM State’s Nathalie Castellanos, Gwen Murphy and Bradley Nash, Seattle U’s Matea Mamic, Martina Samadan and Jelena Vujcin, CSU Bakersfield’s Luiza Martins and Kelsee Sawyer, and Grand Canyon’s Natalie Tardy.

The 2015 season begins Friday, Aug. 28, with all eight teams in tournament action. The 2015 WAC Tournament, hosted by UMKC, will be held Nov. 19-21, at Swinney Recreation Center, and will include the top six eligible teams in the regular-season standings.

2015 WAC Preseason Coaches’ Poll
Rank Team (first-place votes) Points
1. Missouri-Kansas City (4) 45
2. NM State (2) 40
3. Seattle U (1) 37
4. CSU Bakersfield (1) 33
5. Utah Valley 28
6. Grand Canyon 20
7. UT Rio Grande Valley 13
8. Chicago State 8

2015 Preseason All-WAC Team

Player Yr. Pos. School
Lauren Bakker Sr. MB Utah Valley
Nathalie Castellanos Sr. S/OH NM State
Sydney Crimmins Sr. RS Missouri-Kansas City
Macky Fifita Jr. OH Utah Valley
Jessica Hendin Sr. OH Missouri-Kansas City
Matea Mamic Jr. OH Seattle U
Luiza Martins Sr. S CSU Bakersfield
Taryn Miller Sr. L Missouri-Kansas City
Gwen Murphy Sr. OH NM State
Bradley Nash Sr. OPP NM State
Martina Samadan Sr. MB Seattle U
Kelsee Sawyer Sr. OH CSU Bakersfield
Natalie Tardy So. OH Grand Canyon
Jelena Vujcin So. OPP/MB Seattle U

Preseason Player of the Year: Lauren Bakker, Utah Valley