Pascal Siakam Named USBWA All-District

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The honors keep rolling in for New Mexico State forward Pascal Siakam as he has been named to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association's All-District VIII Team.

Siakam has led the Aggies (22-9, 13-1) to a repeat regular season WAC Championship. NM State is now after its fifth straight WAC Tournament Championship this week at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas.

The 6-9 sophomore from Douala, Cameroon is one of the 10 players chosen to the All-District team by the sportswriters and is now eligible for the USBWA's All-America team.

Named earlier Tuesday as the unanimous choice for WAC Player of the Year, Siakam was also chosen to the All-WAC First Team and All-Defensive Team. He's second nationally with 25 double-doubles for the season. He's 21st nationally in scoring with 20.7 points per game and seventh nationally in rebounding with 11.7 boards a contest. He's the only player averaging a double-double in NCAA Division I averaging 20-plus points a game. Siakam also is 26th nationally in blocked shots (2.35 per game). He leads the WAC in all categories.

Siakam was also named WAC Player of the Week an unprecedented five times this season.

The USBWA's District VIII is composed of players from the states of Wyoming, Utah, Idaho, New Mexico, Colorado, Nevada and Montana.

Joining Siakam on the USBWA All-District VIII Team is Utah's Jakob Poeltl who was selected as the district's player of the year. Also on the team are Josh Adams of Wyoming, Martin Breunig of Montana, Elijah Brown of New Mexico, Kyle Collinsworth of BYU, Jordan Loveridge of Utah, Josh Scott of Colorado, Ethan Telfair of Idaho State and James Webb III of Boise State.

Utah's Larry Krystkowiak was chosen as the district's coach of the year by the USBWA.

The teams are selected by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association based on voting from its national membership of 900-plus. The USBWA has selected All-District Teams since the 1956-57 season, its founding year.


Jakob Poeltl, Utah

Larry Krystkowiak, Utah

Josh Adams, Wyoming
Martin Breunig, Montana
Elijah Brown, New Mexico
Kyle Collinsworth, BYU
Jordan Loveridge, Utah
Jakob Poeltl, Utah
Josh Scott, Colorado
Pascal Siakam, New Mexico State
Ethan Telfair, Idaho State
James Webb III, Boise State