Aggie Men's Tennis Falls To Texas Tech 4-0 In NCAA Tournament

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LUBBOCK, TX - The New Mexico State men’s tennis team saw its season come to an end on Saturday with a 4-0 loss to No. 8 Texas Tech at the McLeod Tennis Center in the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

The Aggies (12-10) wrapped up their season 12-10 overall and 4-1 in Western Athletic Conference play, earning its second-straight WAC regular-season title and tournament championship in as many years.

The Eighth-ranked Red Raiders (28-5) took an early 1-0 lead at the conclusion of doubles play with wins at the No. 1 and No. 2 position. Stijn de Haan and Christofer Goncalves was the first NM State squad to fall at No. 2 doubles, 6-1. Texas Tech took the 1-0 lead heading into singles play after Liam Goldberg and Strahinja Trecakov fell 6-2 at the No. 1 slot.

NM State trailed early on in the first set of singles play before Trecakov fell to 19th-ranked Felipe Soares 6-2, 6-1 at the top singles slot. TTU took a 3-0 leader later on when Enrique Asmar was bested by Bjorn Thomson 6-0, 6-2 at the No. 6 slot.

The host, Texas Tech, clinched the match shortly after when de Haan was bested by Jolan Cailleau 6-3, 6-2 at No. 4 singles.

New Mexico State concluded its 2105-16 season with two-straight WAC regular-season and tournament championships.