Aggie Men's And Women's Tennis Earns ITA All-Academic Team Recognition

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

TEMPE, AZ - The New Mexico State men’s and women’s tennis team were honored by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Tuesday evening for their academic excellence. The women’s team had six players earn ITA Scholar-Athlete honors while the men had four.

As a team, it is the ninth-straight year that the women’s team has received the ITA All-Academic Team accolades while the men were honored for the fourth-straight year.

Departed senior Mia Brandt led the way for both teams with her fourth-consecutive ITA Scholar-Athlete award. The 2016 Western Athletic Conference Player of the Year, Ashvarya Shrivastav, earned her third-straight honor while Chloe Jolliff and Rimpledeep Kaur garnered the award for the second year in a row.

Freshmen Lindsay Harlas and Sarah Van Eeckhoudt both received the award their first season in the Crimson and White.

On the men’s side, graduating senior Liam Goldberg tallied his third ITA Scholar-Athlete award since joining NM State. Freshmen Enrique Asmar, Mauri Benitez and Stijn de Haan rounded out the list of first-time winners on the men’s side.

The Aggie men’s and women’s tennis team are set to open the 2016-17 season in September as both teams look to defend their regular-season title once more, while the men look to defend their WAC Tournament title for the-straight year.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2015 and spring 2016).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).