Ariadnne Sierra Named WAC Libero Of The Year; Five Aggies Earn All-WAC Honors

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

DENVER, CO - Five players from the NM State volleyball team were honored on Wednesday with all-conference accolades after the Aggies went 23-6 overall during the regular-season and a 13-1 mark in Western Athletic Conference play.

Aggie outside hitters Jordan Abalos and Tatyana Battle garnered First-Team All-WAC honors with 400 and 355 kills apiece. Abalos’ 3.77 kills per set is good for second in the conference while Battle sits in sixth with 3.32 kills per set. Abalos, a junior from Safford, Ariz., wrapped up the season with 15 double-doubles while Battle finished with nine.

New Mexico State also had a pair of players on the second-team in Ariadnne Sierra and Sasha-Lee Thomas. Thomas was third on the team in kills with 299 (2.77/set) with a .284 hitting clip. The 6-2 junior also totaled a team-best 86 blocks on the year. Sierra was second in the conference with 4.63 digs. This is the second-consecutive honor for Thomas and the first for Sierra.

In addition, Sierra was also named the WAC Libero of the Year after averaging 4.65 digs, 0.87 assists and .45 service aces per set in conference play. The El Paso, Texas, native notched double-digit digs in 13-of-14 WAC matches. She also recorded 30 digs in a game once and 20 digs in a game five times while also being the only libero to earn WAC Player of the Week honors.

Freshman setter Alexsa “Crash” Parker rounded out the awards season for New Mexico State, landing on the All-Freshman Team. Parker finished her first season in Division I volleyball with 504 assists (4.67/set) and 119 digs. The Santa Clara, Utah, product was also third on the team with 29 service aces on the year. This is the third-straight year NM State has had a player named to the all-freshman team.

As the No. 1 seed in the WAC Tournament NM State will get a bye and play the winner between UMKC and UT Rio Grande Valley on Friday, Nov. 19, at 7:30 p.m.

2016 WAC Volleyball Postseason Award Winners

First Team School Yr. Pos.
Jordan Abalos NM State Jr. OH
Tatyana Battle NM State So. OH
Madison Dennison Utah Valley Jr. MB
Carol Grasso CSU Bakersfield Sr. OH
Emma Hagedorn UMKC Sr. MH
Bojana Mitrovic UT Rio Grande Valley Jr. RS
Madison Mosier UMKC Sr. OH/RS

Second Team School Yr. Pos.
Kaylyn Brandt UMKC Sr. S
Sydney Haynes CSU Bakersfield Jr. MB
Katarina Marinkovic Seattle U F OH
Ariadnne Sierra NM State Jr. L
Sasha-Lee Thomas NM State Jr. MH
Lexi Thompson Utah Valley Jr. OH
Alisha Watson UT Rio Grande Valley Sr. RS

All-Freshmen Team School Pos.
Alicia Harrington UMKC OH
Izzie Hinton Utah Valley RS
Katarina Marinkovic Seattle U OH
Alexsa Parker NM State S
Barbara Silva UT Rio Grande Valley MB
Kory White Seattle U MB

WAC Player of the Year: Carol Grasso, CSU Bakersfield
WAC Libero of the Year: Ariadnne Sierra, NM State
WAC Setter of the Year: Kaylyn Brandt, UMKC
WAC Freshman of the Year: Katarina Marinkovic, Seattle U
WAC Coach of the Year: Sam Atoa, Utah Valley