NMSU Baseball Places Seven On All-WAC Teams

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

DENVER, CO - The Western Athletic Conference announced its 2017 All-WAC baseball teams and major awards on Tuesday night. All-WAC selections were made by the league’s eight head coaches after the regular-season.

Seven New Mexico State players earned recognition on the All-WAC baseball teams, tied for the most this season with CSU Bakersfield and the most in school history since 2012.

Catcher Mason Fishback earned a First-Team All-WAC nod after boasting a conference leading .421 batting average and a .705 slugging percentage with 33 runs batted in over 24 conference games. Joining Fishback on the first-team was outfielder Dan Hetzel who had a .304 BA and led the WAC with nine homers.

Two Aggies earned at-large bids on the first-team after stellar campaigns in 2017. Shortstop LJ Hatch was selected after posting a .383 BA with 12 extra-base hits and a team-high 12 stolen bases. Starting pitcher Kyle Bradish was also recognized after putting up a 5-1 record to go with a conference best 51 strikeouts and .169 opposing BA in eight appearances through WAC play.

Three more Aggies were honored with Second-Team All-WAC distinction. Sophomore Tristen Carranza earned the honor at first base as the slugger put up a .310 BA with a .655 slugging percentage and eight home runs.

Second baseman Brent Sakurai was also honored after registering a .365 BA to go along with a league-leading six triples in conference play on his way to setting a single-season record in NM State history with nine overall. First-year Aggie starter Jonathan Groff rounded out the honorees after tossing 46.0 innings of work with a 2.74 earned run average and one complete game shutout.

New Mexico State now takes it’s talents to Mesa, Ariz. as the No. 1 seed in the WAC Tournament with their first game slated for 8 p.m. MT on Thursday, May 25.

2017 First Team All-WAC
Catcher: Mason Fishback, Jr., NM State
First Base: Ian Evans, Jr., Grand Canyon
Second Base: David Metzgar, Sr., CSU Bakersfield
Third Base: Tyler Wyatt, So., Grand Canyon
Shortstop: Ryan Grotjohn, Sr., CSU Bakersfield
Outfield: Garrison Schwartz, Jr., Grand Canyon
Outfield: Tom Lerouge, Jr., Grand Canyon
Outfield: Dan Hetzel, Sr., NM State
At-Large: Ian Dawkins, Jr., Sacramento State
At-Large: LJ Hatch, Sr., NM State
Starting Pitcher: Max Carter, Sr., CSU Bakersfield
Starting Pitcher: Parker Brahms, Fr., Sacramento State
Relief Pitcher: AJ Franks, Sr., Grand Canyon
At-Large: Kyle Bradish, So., NM State

2017 Second Team All-WAC
Catcher: Junior Felix, Sr., CSU Bakersfield
First Base: Tristen Carranza, So., NM State
Second Base: Brent Sakurai, Sr., NM State
Third Base: Mahlik Jones, Sr., CSU Bakersfield
Shortstop: Trent Goodrich, XX, Sacramento State
Outfield: Aaron Stroosma, Sr., Seattle U
Outfield: Andrew Penner, Jr., CSU Bakersfield
Outfield: Zach Thomas, Jr., Chicago State
At-Large: Vinny Esposito, Jr., Sacramento State
At-Large: Jack Pauley, So., Northern Colorado
Starting Pitcher: Jonathan Groff, Jr., NM State
Starting Pitcher: Carter Johnson, Jr., UT Rio Grande Valley
Relief Pitcher: Patrick Wolfe, Sr., Utah Valley
At-Large: Naithen Dewsnap, Jr., CSU Bakersfield

Player of the Year: Garrison Schwartz, Jr., OF, Grand Canyon
Pitcher of the Year: Max Carter, Sr., RHP, CSU Bakersfield
Freshman of the Year: Parker Brahms, RHP, Sacramento State
Coach of the Year: Andy Stankiewicz, Grand Canyon