27 NMSU Football Players Earn Sun Belt Academic Honors

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

NEW ORLEANS, LA - The Sun Belt Conference named over 2,100 athletes to the 2016-17 Commissioner's List and Academic Honor Roll in an announcement on Tuesday. The New Mexico State football team saw 27 student-athletes earn recognition for their hard work in the classroom.

A student named to the Commissioner's List maintained a 3.5 grade point average or better during the 2016-17 academic year while the Academic Honor Roll honors those student-athletes who maintained a GPA between 3.0 and 3.49 for the academic year.

Heading into 2017-18, the Aggies have 13 current players who were recognized for academic excellence last season. Parker Davidson, Dalton Herrington, Billy Nipp, Sy Slater, Jamin Smith, Jacob Wilson and Jaden Wright were all named to the Commissioner's List. The Academic Honor Roll featured current players Jonathan Boone, Cassius Corley, Izaiah Lottie, Jared Phipps, Humberto Renteria and Jackson Solbeck.

The remaining 14 NM State student-athletes who played for the team in 2016-17 were Ty Atencio, Rodney Butler, Louis Lombardi, Deven McGee and Jason Onunkwo, who were honored on the Commissioner's List. To round out the 27 Aggies, Christopher Acosta, Brandon Agomuo, Tyler Dubry, Clayton Granch, Keith Green, Bobby Hill. Andrew Kenney, Thomas McGwire and Robert Wagner were all named to the Academic Honor Roll.