NMSU Swimming And Diving Takes Second At WAC Championships

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

HOUSTON, TX - The New Mexico State women's swimming and diving team earned 601 points to notch second-place at the conclusion of the Western Athletic Conference Championships on Saturday evening at CRWC Natatorium.

"Today was another emotionally charged day for us," head coach Rick Pratt said. "To catch up and finish second was a sign of the grit and determination by our group. Overall, we made great strides finishing the majority of the events with a top-three finisher, having four NCAA b-cuts and challenging for the top spot in all of our relays. Our divers had a strong showing on tower today as well, but being out front at the end of the day and Hanna winning the 200-yard breaststroke with Lauren in second made the evening very special. This is a tremendous group of women who have worked very hard and really owned the pool deck in terms of their energy and support for one another. I'm really proud and excited for the future."

Hanna McGowan took home first-place in the 200-yard breaststroke when she posted a time of 2:14.07, followed by Lauren Wood in second with a time of 2:14.71. Barbora Krizanova placed eighth in the event after recording 2:22.03.

Sheridan Decker placed fourth in the platform diving event with a score of 216.10, while Raina Brommer finished in sixth after posting a score of 199.95.

In the 1650-yard freestyle, Lillian Araujo finished in 11th-place with a time of 17:10.28, followed by Grace Laporte in 12th at 17:12.09 and Katherine Harston in 15th after posting a time of 17:31.88.

Alix Knagg earned a fourth-place finish at the conclusion of the 200-yard backstroke when she recorded a time of 1:59.05. Johanna Pettersson finished ninth with a time of 2:01.17, while Eliana Beaudry placed 11th after posting 2:03.66.

Picabo Bender notched sixth-place in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 51.22, while Sina Wegel finished 10th with a final time of 51.61.

At the conclusion of the 200-yard butterfly, Harston posted 2:05.36 to finish seventh, followed by Reagan Nentwich in 10th with a time of 2:04.04.

The 400-yard freestyle relay team of P. Bender, Laporte, Wegel and Pettersson posted a time of 3:23.79 to nab third-place in the event.

Next up for the Aggies are NCAA Diving Zones, which will take place on March 5-7 in Flagstaff, Ariz. Fans can follow @NMStateSwimDive on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook to stay up-to-date on the latest news.