Brooke Salas Named WAC Player Of The Year, Brooke Atkinson Named WAC Coach Of The Year

Written By: WAC Media Relations

DENVER, CO - The 2017-18 All-WAC teams have been named, following a vote of the WAC’s eight head coaches. NM State’s Brooke Salas headlines the awards, earning WAC Player of the Year honors. Seattle U’s Kallin Spiller was named WAC Freshman of the Year and NM State’s Brooke Atkinson won WAC Coach of the Year.

A 5-11 junior guard from Placentia, Calif., Salas was the leading scorer in conference play at the Aggies won their fourth consecutive WAC regular season title. In addition to her WAC-best 18.4 points per game, she also led the league in steals during WAC play, averaging 2.6 per game. She was also fourth in the conference in rebounding at 8.4 per game and her .865 free throw percentage was one of the top marks in the WAC. Salas shot .436 from three-point range, which was second in the league and her 1.7 blocks per game rank third.

Spiller was named WAC Freshman of the Year after ranking fifth in the WAC in rebounding at 7.7 per game and blocks at 1.1 per game. She shot .500 from the field against conference foes to rank sixth and her 2.8 offensive rebounds per game ranked her third during league play.

Atkinson earned WAC Coach of the Year honors in her first season leading the Aggies as NM State won a fourth-straight WAC regular season title with an 11-3 record. A 2003 graduate of Wichita State, she arrived at NMSU after three seasons as an assistant at Colorado State. She was an assistant at NM State for 11 seasons from 2003-11, helping lead the 2009-10 Aggies to the postseason for the first time in 16 years.

Four schools are represented on the first team. Joining Salas is NMSU teammate Gia Pack, Seattle U’s Alexis Montgomery, Grand Canyon’s Brie Mobley and CSU Bakersfield’s Aja Williams.

The All-WAC second team includes, Kansas City’s Aries Washington and Samantha Waldron, Utah Valley’s Mariah Seals, Grand Canyon’s Jessica Gajewski and Seattle U’s Jacinta Beckley.

The All-Defensive team had representatives from four different schools as CSU Bakersfield’s Jazmyne Bartee and Jazmine Johnson were joined by NM State’s Salas, Seattle U’s Montgomery and Utah Valley’s Taylor Christensen.

The All-Newcomer Team is made up of CSU Bakersfield’s Vanessa Austin, Utah Valley’s Alexis Cortez, UT Rio Grande Valley’s Quynne Huggins, NM State’s Monique Mills and Seattle U’s Spiller.

2017-18 All-WAC Teams

First Team All-WAC
Brooke Salas* NM State G 5-11 Jr. Placentia, Calif. (El Dorado HS)
Alexis Montgomery* Seattle U F 5-10 R-Sr. Beaverton, Ore. (Beaverton HS)
Brie Mobley#~ Grand Canyon G 5-9 Sr. Winter Haven, Fla. (Winter Haven HS/UNC Wilmington)
Gia Pack NM State F 5-10 So. Phoenix, Ariz. (South Mountain HS)
Aja Williams~ CSU Bakersfield F 5-10 Sr. Jackson, Miss. (Provine HS/Holmes CC)

Second Team All-WAC
Aries Washington Kansas City G 5-9 Sr. Kansas City, Mo. (North Kansas City HS)
Mariah Seals Utah Valley G 5-3 Sr. Richmond, Calif. (Miramonte HS)
Jessica Gajewski Grand Canyon G 5-11 R-Sr. Brisbane, Australia (Mountain Creek State)
Jacinta Beckley Seattle U F 6-0 Sr. Wellington, New Zealand (Paraparaumu College)
Samantha Waldron Kansas City G 5-11 Sr. Omaha, Neb. (Millard West HS)

All-Defensive Team
Jazmyne Bartee^ CSU Bakersfield C 6-2 R-Sr. Chandler, Ariz. (Chandler HS/UNLV)
Jazmine Johnson CSU Bakersfield G 5-7 R-Jr. Lakewood, Calif. (Lynwood HS/Seattle U)
Brooke Salas NM State G 5-11 Jr. Placentia, Calif. (El Dorado HS)
Alexis Montgomery^ Seattle U F 5-10 R-Sr. Beaverton, Ore. (Beaverton HS)
Taylor Christensen Utah Valley G 5-8 Sr. Mount Pleasant, Utah (North Sanpete HS)

All-Newcomer Team
Vanessa Austin CSU Bakersfield F/C 6-3 Fr. Salt Lake City, Utah (Judge Memorial HS)
Kallin Spiller Seattle U C 6-3 Fr. Seattle, Wash. (Lakeside School)
Alexis Cortez Utah Valley G 6-0 So. Tucson, Ariz. (East Carolina)
Quynne Huggins UT Rio Grande Valley G 5-11 Jr. Goodyear, Ariz. (Mesa CC)
Monique Mills NM State G 5-10 Jr. Salt Lake City, Utah (Trinity Valley)

Player of the Year: Brooke Salas, NM State
Freshman of the Year: Kallin Spiller, Seattle U
Coach of the Year: Brooke Atkinson, NM State

*Indicates 2016-17 First Team All-WAC Selection
#Indicates 2016-17 Second Team All-WAC Selection
^Indicates 2016-17 All-Defensive Team Selection
~Indicates 2016-17 All-Newcomer Team