Eight Aggies Garner ITA Scholar-Athletes Honor

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

TEMPE, AZ - The New Mexico State men's and women's tennis programs had eight combined players named Intercollegiate Tennis Association Scholar Athletes Tuesday afternoon. In addition, both men's and women's teams earned All-Academic Team accolades as well.

The Aggie women have now earned ITA All-Academic Team honors for the 15th-consecutive year while the men were honored for the sixth-straight season.

On the men's side, Stijn de Haan (aerospace engineering) and Enrique Asmar (civil engineering) both earned their third-straight ITA Scholar-Athlete recognition while Luis Flores (finance) earned the honor for the second-consecutive year. Louis Menard (finance), Yusuke Nishitani (marketing) and Alejandro Rosas (mathematics) claimed their first since joining NM State last season. This is the sixth-consecutive season the Aggies have had four or more student-athletes earn this honor.

On the women's side, Lindsay Harlas (biology) picked up her third-straight scholar-athlete award while Yadira Rubio (finance) and former Aggie Vanessa Valdez (engineering) picked up the award for the first time in the Crimson & White.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners were factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2016 and spring 2017).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).