Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

FORT WALTON BEACH, FL - The 2018 Wuerffel Trophy announced its watch list today of 106 players from college football's Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) on Thursday. New Mexico State football offensive lineman Jamin Smith earned a nod for the watch list.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as "College Football's Premier Award for Community Service," is presented annually at the All Sports Association’s Awards Banquet in Fort Walton Beach. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Coming off a historic 2017 season that saw New Mexico State break a 57-year bowl drought and win the 2017 NOVA Home Loans Arizona Bowl, the Aggies are scheduled to open their 2018 campaign with Wyoming on Saturday, August 25, in the friendly confines of Aggie Memorial Stadium.