NMSU Softball Downs DePaul 4-1 In UNLV Rebel Classic Opener

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS VEGAS, NV - New Mexico State defeated DePaul 4-1 on Thursday to open the UNLV Rebel Classic. It was the second time the Aggies defeated the Blue Demons this season.

Kayla Green pitched her second complete game in victory. She struck out five batters and allowed only one hit and one run. NM State moves to 5-10 this season with Green earning her third win.

How it happened

The Aggies opened the game scoring two runs in the first. Rachel Rodriguez hit a single through the left side to start the inning. Kelsey Horton reached base for her 15-straight game as sophomore hit a double to center field. Fahren Glackin drove in the first run of the inning with a single to left field.

With two outs in the first, Haley Nakamura singled through the left side to score a run and give the Aggies the 2-0 advantage.  Continue Reading This Post >>

NMSU Men's Basketball Advances To WAC Tournament Semifinals With 67-53 Win Over Chicago State

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS VEGAS, NV - The New Mexico State men’s basketball team overcame a tough opening half from the floor and waltzed away with a 67-53 win over Chicago State in the Western Athletic Conference Tournament quarterfinals in Orleans Arena.

With the win, NM State is now 13-2 all-time in Las Vegas with its only losses coming in 2011 against Boise State (semifinals) and then in 2016 against CSU Bakersfield (championship).  Continue Reading This Post >>

Ian Baker Named WAC Player Of The Year; Chuha, Jones Earn All-WAC Honors

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

DENVER, CO - New Mexico State men’s basketball senior guard Ian Baker was named the Western Athletic Conference Player of the Year after averaging 16.7 points, 4.3 rebounds and 4.1 assists in 2016-17. Meanwhile, Eli Chuha earned Second-Team All-WAC honors and Jemerrio Jones was named to the WAC All-Newcomer Team the conference announced Tuesday morning.

NM State has now produced two of the last three conference player of the year honorees. In addition, this is the second-straight year Baker has been named First-Team All-WAC.  Continue Reading This Post >>

Moriah Mack Named WAC Player Of The Year, Mark Trakh Named WAC Coach Of The Year

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

DENVER, CO - The Western Athletic Conference announced the All-WAC honors on Monday morning. Head coach Mark Trakh and the Aggies earned seven individual accolades, more than any other WAC opponent, including Trakh for Coach of the Year and Moriah Mack for Player of the Year.

This was the third consecutive season Mark Trakh has been named the WAC Coach of the Year, after three-straight conference regular season titles. An undefeated (14-0) record in WAC play this year was a first in NM State program history, to go along with a 22-6 overall record. Trakh and the Aggies finished the season on a 15-game winning streak, for the second straight year, which ties the program record set by Joe McKeown in 1987-88.  Continue Reading This Post >>

NMSU Baseball Blasts Yale 18-5, Takes Series 3-1

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - Thanks to a combined 19 hits by Aggie batters on Sunday, the New Mexico State baseball team powered past Yale 18-5 at Presley Askew Field to take the series 3-1.

The win also gave NM State its second-straight series victory. The last NM State won back-to-back series was in 2014 when it took 3-of-4 from Saint Mary’s and SIUE to start the season.

How It Happened

The visiting Bulldogs (1-3) drew first blood on the day, getting back-to-back knocks to left before scoring one on a wild pitch from NM State starter Marcel Renteria (2-0, 3.14 ERA).

However, the Aggies (9-5) came out swinging in their half of the first inning and pounded Yale for 10 runs and nearly batted around the order twice.

It would be nearly 40 minutes later before Renteria returned to the hill to pitch the second inning – which didn’t last long thanks to a 4-6-3 double-play.  Continue Reading This Post >>

Eli Chuha Named WAC Player Of The Week

Written By: WAC Media Relations

DENVER, CO - NM State sophomore forward Eli Chuha has been named Western Athletic Conference Men’s Basketball Player of the Week for the week of Feb. 27-March 4. This is his first-ever WAC Player of the Week honor.

The Redlands, Calif., native scored a career-high 28 points and pulled down nine rebounds, including five on the offensive end, in a rout of UT Rio Grande Valley. Chuha shot 7-of-11 (63.6 percent) from the field and 14-of-18 (77.8 percent) at the line on the game. He also dished out two assists and nabbed one steal in 26 minutes of action. Chuha currently leads the WAC in field goal percentage (60.5), ranks third in rebounding (9.0) and 12th in scoring (12.4).

NMSU Women's Basketball Defeats UTRGV, Finishes Conference Play Unbeaten

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

EDINBURG, TX - The New Mexico State women’s basketball team faced off against the UTRGV Vaqueros in Edinburg, Texas to close out the regular season on Saturday night. The season finale saw NM State achieve two historical feats in the program’s history.

With a 64-46 win on Saturday, the Aggies went undefeated in Western Athletic Conference play (14-0) for the first time in the team’s history. NM State also won their 15th straight game for the second season in a row, which ties the program record set by Joe McKeown and the Aggies back in 1987-88.

After the historic victory for the team, head coach Mark Trakh said, “This is a huge accomplishment and the credit really goes to these great players. They showed such great dedication and perseverance to achieve such a feat. I’m just so happy for them and what this program has been able to achieve.”  Continue Reading This Post >>

NMSU Baseball Sweeps Doubleheader With Yale

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The New Mexico State baseball team went 2-0 on Saturday as the Aggies defeated Yale 16-5 and 7-3 in doubleheader action. The wins moved NM State to 8-5 on the year while the Bulldogs dropped to 1-2 to start the season.

Game 1: How it happened

NM State got off to a rough start as Yale broke out to an early 1-0 lead. Kyle Bradish started on the mound for the Aggies. He went to work in the first and was able to get out of the inning, only allowing the one run.  Continue Reading This Post >>

NMSU Men's Basketball Wins Big Over UTRGV On Senior Day

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - On a night where emotions could’ve got the best of them, Ian Baker and Matt Taylor both had terrific performances in their final game on Lou Henson Court in front of the Aggie faithful Saturday night.

Baker posted 21 points with seven assists while Taylor, a redshirt junior who is expected to graduate this spring, put up 11 points with eight rebounds on 5-of-8 shooting to help New Mexico State send UT Rio Grande Valley packing, 107-81.

The first half of the game saw a lot of back-and-forth action with four lead changes and six ties. However, all that stopped when New Mexico State broke away for good thanks to a 9-0 run that was capped off by a jam from Matt Taylor.  Continue Reading This Post >>

NMSU Baseball Falls To Yale 3-1 In Series Opener

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The New Mexico State baseball team dropped an exciting 3-1 game Friday night at Presley Askew Field in front of a sold-out crowd of 1,331 that included kids from the Las Cruces Youth Baseball Association.

The Aggies (6-5) struck first in the bottom of the third when Brent Sakurai led off with a triple to deep right field and scored on the following play when Tristen Carranza grounded on a hard chopper to the second baseman.

However, the visiting Bulldogs (1-0) answered right back in the next half inning when their designated hitter Griffin Dey lifted a 1-1 pitch from Johnathan Groff well over the centerfield wall.  Continue Reading This Post >>