Men's Basketball News

warning: Creating default object from empty value in /var/www/ on line 33.
Men's Basketball News

NM State Adds Brandon Mason To Men's Basketball Staff

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - NM State men’s basketball welcomes the return of one of its own, as former Aggie Brandon Mason has been tabbed by NM State Head Coach Marvin Menzies the new Special Assistant to the Head Coach.

Mason has spent the last season as an assistant coach at New Mexico Highlands after two seasons as the video administrator at New Mexico.

“I’m so excited to be able to return to the Aggies,” said Mason. “This is a dream come true. I’ve been waiting on the opportunity to work with Coach Menzies and his staff, and to work with such a great program with a strong winning tradition.”

Mason played for the Aggies from 1999 to 2003, averaging 9.1 points and 3.2 rebounds for his career. He is part of the NM State 1,000-Point Club, scoring 1,051 points in his four seasons with the Aggies. He was also twice named the team’s defensive player of the year.  Continue Reading This Post >>

Twenty Aggies Earn All-Academic Honors For Winter Sports

DENVER, CO - The 2014-15 academic All-WAC men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s indoor track and field and men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams have been announced. A total of 276 winter student-athletes were named to the list including 20 New Mexico State student-athletes with the women's swimming and diving team garnering 13 honorees. To be eligible, a student-athlete must have completed at least one academic year, have at least a 3.2 cumulative grade point average and have participated in at least 50 percent of the team’s contests.

Pascal Siakam, So.

Brianna Freeman, So.
Sasha Weber, Jr.

Alyssa Cox, So.
Akuadasuo Ezenyilimba, So.
Diana Hawk, Sr.
Gabriela Rodrigues, So.

Alissa Bezenek, So.
Abigail Broome, So.
Natalie French, So.
Josi Gabaldon, So.
Jessica Legge, Sr.
Dorottya Lennert, Jr.
Logan Morris, So.
Emily Nightingale, Jr.
Chelsey Reber, Jr.
Lauren Reifel, Jr.
Cassandra Rupp, Jr.
Kara Schweitzer, Sr.
Mackenzie Soper, Jr.

Pascal Siakam, Daniel Mullings Earn NABC District 6 Honors

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - New Mexico State freshman Pascal Siakam and senior Daniel Mullings received more honors on Friday as the National Association of Basketball Coaches announced the 2015 All-District 6 team.

Siakam, a 6-9 forward from Douala, Cameroon, was chosen to the first team. Mullings, a 6-2 guard from Toronto, Ontairo, was honored as a second team selection.

NABC District 6 is composed of the Western Athletic Conference and Big Sky Conference.

The pair are half of the four WAC players chosen to the All-District teams.  Continue Reading This Post >>

New Mexico State Men's Basketball Draws 15-Seed, Faces 2-Seed Kanas Friday

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The New Mexico State Aggies drew No. 9 Kansas as their first opponent in the 2015 NCAA Tournament.

The NCAA selection committee tapped the Western Athletic Conference champion Aggies (23-10) as a No. 15 seed in the Midwest Region, while Kansas (26-80, the regular season Big 12 champion and tournament runnerup, is the No. 2 seed.

The game will be Friday in Omaha, Neb., at the CenturyLink Center in the opening contest at 10:15 a.m. Mountain time (11:15 Central).

“While I was hoping we’d get a 13 or 14 seed, it really doesn’t matter,” said NM State coach Marvin Menzies. “Because when you’re a 13-14-15, you’re playing the big boys.”

“Kansas is one of the storied college programs in the country, and we’ve got our work cut out for us,” Menzies added.

NM State is making its fourth straight appearance in the NCAA Tournament and the fifth in the last six years under Menzies.  Continue Reading This Post >>

NCAA Tournament Selection Show Watch Parties

Marvin Menzies Named WAC Coach Of The Year, Pascal Siakam Named WAC Freshman Of The Year

Written By: NM State Athletic Dept.

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - Western Athletic Conference regular season champion New Mexico State collected a lion’s share of the postseason honors as the WAC recognized its outstanding players on Tuesday.

NM State Coach Marvin Menzies was named the WAC’s Don Haskins Coach of the Year, while redshirt freshman Pascal Siakam was chosen Freshman of the Year and senior Daniel Mullings joined Siakam as a member of the All-WAC first team.

Seniors Tshilidzi Nephawe and Remi Barry were selected to the All-WAC second team.

The balloting was done by the head coaches of the conference, who could not vote for their own players.

“This shows the depth and the talent of our team to be able to have four players chosen to the all-conference team,” said Menzies. “This really is a reflection of the team.”  Continue Reading This Post >>

Lou Henson To Be Inducted Into Collegiate Basketball Hall Of Fame

The Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2015 will include Aggie coaching legend Lou Henson. The eight-member induction class includes Rolando Blackmon (Kansas State), Quinn Buckner (Indiana), John Havlicek (Ohio State), Ed Ratleff (Long Beach State), Charlie Scott (North Carolina) and coaches Lou Henson (Hardin-Simmons, New Mexico State, Illinois), Don Donoher (Dayton) and Zip Gayles (Tennessee A&I, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Langston).

Henson amassed 779 victories at three different schools and led both New Mexico State and Illinois to Final Four appearances and is the winningest coach at both New Mexico State (289) and Illinois (423).

The class will be enshrined on Friday, November 20 at the Midland Theater and will be part of the CBE Classic weekend.